Harley Jane Kozak Harley Jane Kozak Harley Jane Kozak
home about novels acting events contact extras
novels

A Date You Can't Refuse

A Date You Can't Refuse

Book 4 of the Wollie Shelley series

Wollie Shelley isn't happy about taking the job as a "social coach" at MediaRex, but the FBI makes her an offer she can't refuse. If she agrees to infiltrate the company, they'll guarantee that her schizophrenic brother will have a home at the federally subsidized halfway house he's come to love.

So Wollie launches into teaching three foreign celebrities how to cope with the customs of Beverly Hills, improve their English, and become Oprah-ready. And when a coyote-chewed corpse appears in the MediaRex compound, Wollie realizes that her colleagues are concealing some serious secrets of their own.

 BUY THE BOOK:
Indiebound Kobo Amazon Amazon Barnes & Noble Barnes & Noble iTunes

 BUY THE AUDIOBOOK:
Audible Barnes & Noble

Praise

"Kozak keeps the laughs and chills in bewitching balance as Wollie uncovers the secrets of Yuri's extended family—and suffers a first-time dating consequence in the surprising denouement." (Mar.)
   —Publishers Weekly

"...Kozak's latest strikes a balanced note—sharp and witty but heartfelt."
   —Kirkus Reviews

"Greeting-card designer Wollie Shelley knows plenty about dating: she once dated 40 men in 60 days as part of a research project; she was a contestant on a dating reality show; and she was a dating correspondent on a talk show. Along with dates, she also attracts dead bodies... Kozak continues to mix well-developed characters and madcap action in this enjoyable book. Beautiful, six-foot Wollie is a natural for Stephanie Plum fans."
   —Booklist

"Witty and hysterically funny, the story flies so quickly that you willingly suspend disbelief. While the characters are many, they are so vividly drawn that there's no confusion. Wollie is a wonderful character, trying always to do her best in impossible situations. Fans of Jennifer Crusie and Janet Evanovich will thoroughly enjoy the ride."
   —Romantic Times, TOP PICK

"This fourth book featuring the likable, but hapless Wollie Shelley is even better than the previous novels. She's so easy to relate to as she courageously confronts daily problems and figures out ways to cope with whatever life throws her way. This mystery series is delightfully fun, clever, suspenseful and a pure joy to read."
   —Fresh Fiction

"While Wollie has a certain degree of frivolity about her, she's not an innocent and she's not dumb. Wollie has a certain blitheness about her. She relies on her friends, the very savvy Fredreeq and Joey for the necessary details. But what drives Wollie Shelley, why she does what she does in life is a very serious matter."
   —Andi Shechter, reviewingtheevidence.com

Doubleday, hardcover, March 2009, ISBN: 9780385518031
Broadway, paperback, March 2009, ISBN: 9780767924221